Disabling and Deleting

There are impor­tant things to keep in mind when it comes time to dis­able or delete a player.

Disabling and Deleting

There are impor­tant things to keep in mind when it comes time to dis­able or delete a player.

This time of year, every year, we get a hand­ful of calls from coach­es con­cerned about keep­ing game film safe dur­ing the off­sea­son. With each person’s login pro­vid­ing so much access to your team’s library, those con­cerns are per­fect­ly under­stand­able – espe­cial­ly as play­ers’ careers come to an end and their Hudl respon­si­bil­i­ties change.

Some coach­es make sure to remove play­ers from the ros­ter with­in days of the sea­son end­ing. Others haven’t cleaned up their account for three or four years. There is no right or wrong way to man­age your team’s ros­ter, but there are impor­tant things to keep in mind when it comes time to dis­able or delete a player.

Disable

If you want to remove seniors’ access to the library right away, but wor­ry about their sta­tus in terms of being recruit­ed, just dis­able them. Especially if they’re talk­ing to Div. II and Div. III schools, as those coach­es are just now reach­ing out to athletes.

Disabling a play­er will not remove them from your team’s account or the Hudl sys­tem; it only pre­vents them from see­ing the library — includ­ing video they pre­vi­ous­ly had access to. This also means they can­not tag new high­lights. What they can do is access their own high­light page and edit exist­ing reels.

We strong­ly encour­age that you stick with the dis­abling option for any play­er who leaves the team in good stand­ing. It allows them to revis­it their ath­lete pro­file and order copies of their high­lights lat­er on. Also keep in mind that all dis­abled play­ers can be re-enabled at any time.

Delete

Deleting a play­er is 100% per­ma­nent. It total­ly removes them from your ros­ter and the Hudl sys­tem. Deleting a play­er also deletes all of the high­lights asso­ci­at­ed with their account. This can­not be undone, which is why we sug­gest you choose to dis­able for­mer ath­letes — even if they’re not being recruited.

When it comes to remov­ing coach­es, you only have the option to delete. While delet­ing an ath­lete also deletes any high­lights that ath­lete cre­at­ed, a delet­ed coach’s notes and high­lights will still exist. A team admin­is­tra­tor can go in and delete those notes lat­er, if they’d like. 

We want you to feel good about keep­ing your team’s video in Hudl, whether it’s the mid­dle of the sea­son or the mid­dle of May. Just make sure every coach and play­er has their own login cre­den­tials (shared cre­den­tials can cause major headaches), and any for­mer play­ers are dis­abled or deleted.

If you have any ques­tions about man­ag­ing your ros­ter, feel free to email or tweet our sup­port team.